somaho_caffee_plantage_01.jpg

OUR COFFEE

The equatorial mist of Lake Kivu, the perfect humidity and the rich volcanic soil emanating from the Virunga volcanoes create our unique Red Bourbon Arabica coffee beans.

SOMAHO has an exclusive partnership with Kivubelt Coffee, founded and led by Furaha Umwizeye Teuscher. The coffee grows on two peninsulas (Kamajumba and Nyaruzina) and another plantation (Jarama) on the mainland in close proximity to Lake Kivu, in the Nyamasheke district. At the two coffee washing stations Murundo CWS and Jarama CWS, specialty coffee from the mountain village Cyiya and also People's Farm coffee is processed (fully washed) and stored.

 

The quality of Kivubelt's coffee has already been honored with the prestigious Cup of Excellence. 

_O4A1070-2.jpg
NYARUZINA

Nyaruzina is a picturesque peninsula on Lake Kivu and accessible only by boat. Unique coffee in Rwanda is grown on this farm of 16ha and 1525m ASL. Since all the cherries come from this beautiful peninsula growing conditions can be controlled and always improved. For this reason, there is the possibility of selective picking and sorting to process only the best cherries.

_O4A1092-2.jpg
CYIYA

This coffee was sourced from the mountain village of Cyiya in the Mahembe sector. Kivubelt has been working closely with a group of 100 families in Cyiya since 2015. The village is located at an altitude of 1900 to 2000 m.a.s.l. high up in the mountains. The farmers walk for hours to sell their coffee cherries at Kivubelt's washing station in Murondo. As is common in Rwanda, they grow coffee in Cyiya along with other crops such as beans, yams and cassava for their own consumption.

_O4A1041-2.jpg
KAMAJUMBA

The magnificent Kamajumba Peninsula with its area of about 9 hectares is located on the shore of Lake Kivu in the Gihombo sector of Rwanda. The altitude of the peninsula ranges from 1550 to 1700 m.a.s.l. The coffee is picked by hand, wet processing, sun-dried on beds. The coffee is stored at Kivubelt's Coffee Washing Station (CWS) called Jarama. Three permanent employees and about 50 casual workers are employed in Kamajumba during the harvest season from March to June.

_O4A1050-2.jpg
JARAMA

Jarama coffee comes from a farm of 18ha located between 1779 and 1900m ASL. Six permanent employees and about 200 salaried employees work at Jarama during harvest time. The coffee is picked by hand in the months of April and May, wet-processed, dried in the sun, and then stored in a well-ventilated warehouse in Jarama CWS.

_O4A1074-2.jpg
PEOPLE’S FARM

The People's Farm coffee (PF) was sourced from some of the 400 families of farmers living near the Murundo CWS. The small coffee farms are located in the Mahembe sector and are situated at an altitude of 1700 to 1800 m.a.s.l. Kivubelt won the prestigious Cup of Excellence awards with the People's Farm coffee. In addition to coffee, the farmers also grow other crops such as beans, bananas, vegetables, and sweet potatoes for their own consumption.

somaho_caffee_plantage_01.jpg

UNSER KAFFEE

Der äquatoriale Nebel des Kivusees, die perfekte Luftfeuchtigkeit und der reiche vulkanische Boden, der von den Virunga-Vulkanen ausgeht, schaffen unsere einzigartigen Kaffeebohnen der Sorte Red Bourbon Arabica.

SOMAHO pflegt eine exklusive Partnerschaft mit Kivubelt Coffee in Rwanda. Kivubelt wurde von Furaha Umwizeye Teuscher im Jahr 2011 gegründet. Furaha baut auf zwei Halbinseln (Kamajumba und Nyaruzina) und einer weiteren Plantage (Jarama) in unmittelbarer Nähe des Kivusees im Distrikt Nyamasheke Spezialitätenkaffee an. Auf den beiden Kaffeewaschstationen Murundo CWS und Jarama CWS wird sowohl Spezialitätenkaffee aus dem Bergdorf Cyiya als auch von der sogenannten People’s Farm nass aufbereitet (fully washed) und gelagert.

 

Die Qualität des Kaffees von Kivubelt wurde mit dem renommierten Cup of Excellence geehrt. 

Nyaruzina ist eine 16 ha-grosse Halbinsel am Kivusee und nur mit dem Boot erreichbar. Auf einer Höhe von ca. 1525 m.ü.M wird hier einzigartiger Kaffee angebaut. Da alle Kirschen von dieser wunderschönen Halbinsel stammen, können die Anbaubedingungen gut kontrolliert und stets verbessert werden. Aus diesem Grund besteht die Möglichkeit, selektiv zu pflücken und zu sortieren. So werden nur die besten Kirschen verarbeitet.

Dieser Kaffee wurde aus dem Bergdorf Cyiya im Sektor Mahembe bezogen. Kivubelt arbeitet seit 2015 mit einer Gruppe von 100 Familien in Cyiya eng zusammen. Das Dorf liegt auf einer Höhe von 1900 bis 2000 m.ü.M. hoch oben in den Bergen. Die Bäuerinnen und Bauern gehen stundenlang zu Fuss, um ihre Kaffeekirschen an der Waschstation von Kivubelt in Murondo zu verkaufen. Wie in Rwanda üblich, bauen sie in Cyiya den Kaffee zusammen mit anderen Feldfrüchten wie Bohnen, Yamswurzeln und Maniok für den Eigenverbrauch an.

Die wunderschöne Halbinsel Kamajumba mit ihrer Fläche von etwa 22 Hektaren liegt am Ufer des Kivusees im Sektor Gihombo in Rwanda. Die Höhe der Halbinsel beträgt 1550 bis 1700 m.ü.M. Der Kaffee wir von Hand gepflückt. Die Nassverarbeitung, die Sonnentrocknung auf sogenannten afrikanischen Betten und die Lagerung erfolgt in der Coffee Washing Station (CWS) von Kivubelt namens Jarama. Drei Festangestellte und etwa 50 Gelegenheitsarbeitende sind in Kamajumba während der Erntezeit von März bis Juni tätig.

Der Kaffee Jarama stammt von einer Kivubelt-Kaffeefarm, die sich auf 1700 und 1900 m.ü.M befindet. Sechs Festangestellte und etwa 200 Angestellte arbeiten in Jarama während der Erntezeit. Der Kaffee wird in den Monaten April und Mai von Hand gepflückt, nass verarbeitet, auf sogenannten afrikanischen Betten in der Sonne getrocknet und dann in einem gut belüfteten Lagerhaus in Jarama CWS gelagert.

Der People's Farm Kaffee (PF) wurde von einigen der 400 Familien von Bäuerinnen und Bauern bezogen, die in der Nähe der Murundo CWS leben. Die kleinen Kaffeefarmen befinden sich im Sektor Mahembe und liegen auf einer Höhe von 1700 bis 1800 m.ü.M. Kivubelt hat mit dem People's Farm Kaffee die prestigeträchtige Auszeichnungen Cup of Excellence gewonnen. Neben Kaffee bauen die Bäuerinnen und Bauern auch andere Feldfrüchte wie Bohnen, Bananen, Gemüse und Süsskartoffeln für ihren Eigenbedarf an.

Join Our Mailing List

SOMAHO

Vanía Nzeyimana

hello@somaho.ch

+41 79 288 46 67

©2020 Somaho.ch 

Design by patriziastalder.ch

  • Weiß Facebook Icon
  • Weiß Instagram Icon